History of the Upper Clutha A&P Show

Beginning life in 1895 as the Upper Clutha A&P Show, the first Agricultural and Pastoral Show was held in Cromwell. In 1933 it was reinstated in Wanaka, with the first show being in 1934 and it has been based at the picturesque lakefront Showgrounds ever since, run by the Upper Clutha A&P Society.

To celebrate the 50th Show, Mrs Sybil Hunt, wife of the Society’s first president – Mr J S Hunt – opened the event in 1983. In 2012, Prime Minister John Key attended to mark the 75th Show. As member of the Royal Agricultural Society of New Zealand, the Wanaka A&P Show hosted a Royal Event in 2008. Three events – Round the Ring Equestrian, Dog Trials and Stud Sheep – were given the prestigious status and 14 RAS Royal Event medals were awarded.


The Upper Clutha A & P Society was formed in 1933 with the first show being held in 1934.

The A & P Show has always been held on the current grounds in the centre of Wanaka, with the only time it was suspended was during the war years of 1942-1945.

After 81 years the show structure changed from a President to a five member Board. The section Committees are still very active ensuring that the A & P aspect is kept strong.

Over the years the Show has seen continued growth to the full two day programme of events we see today, with quality stock competitions, a growing home industry section and trade exhibitors, entertainment and agricultural displays filling every corner.


Pictured below are Grant Ruddenklau (Chairman), Jan Allen, Chrissy Gibson, Mike Scurr (Vice Chairman), Doug Stalker. Board Minute Secretary Sue Aspinall.


Event Manager: Jane Stalker

Financial: Bronwyn McCarthy

Livestock Manager: Fe Howie

Corporate Sponsorship: Robbie Gibson & Chrissy Gibson

Hon. Life Members: W H Gibson, P D Gordon, J C A Lucas, Mrs D Gordon, Mrs K Curtis, A R Morris

Horse Committee: Fe Howie (Chief Steward), John Lucas, Alan McKay, Dave Mackay, Dee Gordon, Ross Howie, Christine Gibson, Emma Rowe-Pledger, Jenny Calder, Emma Davidson, Ian Tippett, Brenda King, Judy Thomas, Penny Ford, Cate Howie

Cattle Committee: Rupert Power (Chief Steward) Charlie Ewing, Pip Ewing, John Osborne, Geof Brown, Dave Power, G Morris, Helena Power, Mike Elliot

Sheep Committee: Boyd Ottrey, (Chief Steward), Ben Purvis, Bill Gibson, Robbie Gibson, Murray Sheppard, Murray Pryde, Simon Maling, Tony Brent, Sam Purvis, John Templeton, Grahame Senior

Fleece Wool Committee: Martin Paterson (Chief Steward), Tom Rowley, Sandy Morris, Jack Davis, Taff Cochrane, , Liz Brown, Ian Bagley, Jim Morris

Dog Trial Committee: Don Mackay (Chief Steward), Rick McNeilly, Don McRae, Duncan McRae, Hamish Mackay; Jack Mansfield

Home Industry Committee: Janice Dickey (Chief Steward) Jan Allen, Jill Bruce, Lesly Stewart, Kate Norman, Liz Buggs

Boer Goat Committee: Owen Booth, Dougal Laidlaw

Sheaf Tossing Committee: Jerry Burdon, Hugh Simmers

Trade: Paul Tamati, Hugh Simmers, Peter Williams

Parade Marshall: Richard Pledger

Announcers: Alan Kane, Tim Black, J Calder, Tony Glynn, Cate Howie, Mick Withers

Farrier: S Cooper

Hon Veterinary: VetEnt Wanaka

Emergency Services & Traffic Management: R Fegan